The Chemical Coaters Association International Finishing Education Foundation (CCAIFEF) is proud to announce this year’s scholarship recipients.

Since 1992, CCAI has awarded scholarship money from the CCAI Matt Heuertz Scholarship Fund to students enrolled in programs that could lead to a career in coatings and finishing. The scholarships are being awarded through the CCAI Finishing Education Foundation (CCAIFEF), a 501 (c)(3) tax-exempt charitable organization. Applications from qualified students were reviewed by the CCAIFEF Board of Directors, who determined this year’s scholarship winners.

CCAIFEF awarded a total of $17,500 in scholarships to ten deserving students.

“This year, we received applications from 28 individuals representing 14 different academic institutions,” said Sheila LaMothe, CCAIFEF’s executive director. “We are excited to follow the career paths of these students as they are the future of the finishing and coatings industry.”

In addition to cash awards sent to the student’s school account, each scholarship recipient receives a one-year student membership in CCAI, which allows them to gain significant exposure to the industry and benefit from the multitude of resources available through the association and its chapters.

CCAI and CCAIFEF extend sincere congratulations to all the recipients of a 2021 Matt Heuertz Scholarship:
• Genna Andreae, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
• Scott Andreae, University of Wisconsin – Stout
• Caiden Atienza, University of Iowa
• Joseph Ekes, Iowa State University
• Katie Engle, University of Cincinnati
• Emma Filipkowski, University of Cincinnati
• Dray Gibson, University of Cincinnati
• Tyler Kleinsasser, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
• Gladwin Bryan Labrague, Missouri University of Science & Technology
• William Joseph Martin, University of Cincinnati

Further congratulations are offered to the winners of CCAI Chapter Scholarships. In addition to the National awards, the Twin Cities, West Michigan and Wisconsin CCAI chapters awarded nearly $20,000 through their own scholarships for students in their regions.

CCAI recognizes the Twin Cities chapter recipients: Kay Borgerding, North Dakota State University; Tyler Kleinsasser, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology; Olivia McCabe, College of Saint Benedict; Connor Quinlan, University of St. Thomas; and Carissa Stalzer, Iowa State University.

The three West Michigan chapter scholarship winners are Anna Bielecki, Michigan State University; Carsen Bovink, Grand Valley State University, and Chloe Westrate, Saint Mary’s College-Notre Dame.

The Wisconsin chapter awarded Tyler Kleinsasser, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology, the James Wright Scholarship; Genna Andrea, University of Wisconsin-Platteville, received the David Wright Scholarship; and Aaron Kinney, University of Wisconsin – Platteville received the James Steffes Scholarship.

Additional Wisconsin chapter scholarship funds were awarded to: Sophia Brooks, Howard University; Adam Degler, University of Wisconsin – Madison; Jacob Diker, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee; Alexandria Garczynski, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee; Casey Roeser, University of Wisconsin – Madison; Mary Schilling, University of Wisconsin – Madison and Nolan Wagner, St. Norbert College.    

CCAIFEF accepts scholarship applications each year beginning in January. Applications can be submitted online at

This post appeared first on Coatings World.

Comments are closed.