To recognize and celebrate the achievements and innovations of the European polyurethane industry, the organizers of UTECH Europe have announced the launch of the UTECH Europe Awards 2021.

There are nine categories of Innovation Awards, a Rising Star Award, and inductees will also be made to the UTECH Hall of Fame. Nominations and entries in all award categories are free of charge.

The finalists for each award category will be revealed in a livestream event in September, with the winners revealed at the triennial UTECH Europe exhibition and conference taking place at the MECC in Maastricht, The Netherlands Nov. 16-18, 2021.

“Now seems the right time to recognize the many and varied achievements of our polyurethane industry in Europe, even more so after the difficulties we have all shared over the last eighteen months,” said Debbie Hershfield, UTECH Europe trade show director. “Our objective is to highlight the success of our leading individuals and rising stars as well as the teamwork of polyurethane innovators working in all the largest markets for this family of materials.”

At least six people will be inducted into the UTECH Hall of Fame, which recognizes leaders who have made a significant contribution to the polyurethane industry and have spent at least 25 years in the polyurethane industry. Previous inductees include Patrick Thomas, former chairman and CEO of Covestro, and John Televantos, senior partner at Arsenal Capital Partners.

The Innovation Awards will showcase the best polyurethane application and materials/processing developments in recent years in nine categories. The categories are:
• Automotive Innovation Award
• Footwear/Clothing Innovation Award
• Cold Chain/Refrigeration Innovation Award
• Building/Construction Innovation Award
• CASE Innovation Award
• Flexible Foam Innovation Award
• Rigid Foam Innovation Award
• Environmental Award
• Process Improvement Award

The panel of judges for the inaugural UTECH Europe Awards comprises Michel Baumgartner, secretary general, Europur; Jörg Palmersheim, secretary general, Isopa & Alipa; Per Henning Vaagen, general manager/CEO, Laader Berg; Tony Ryan, technical director – UK & Ireland, Kingspan Ltd; Mike Murray, CTO, Vita Group; Ulrich Liman, senior vice president, PU Business Unit, Covestro and Grayzyna Mitchener, director, Polychemtech.

Deadline for nominations and entries in all award categories is July 1, 2021. For more information and free online entry visit:

This post appeared first on Coatings World.

Comments are closed.